The Software Craftsman: Chapters 9 & 10

Chapter 9 is the first chapter of Part II of The Software Craftsman.  This chapter discusses what companies can do to attract great developers during the recruitment process.  Many companies will post a traditional job description along with the criteria that you should have ____ years of experience.  The chapter states that companies may be pushing away great developers that would be extremely beneficial to the company by their recruitment process.  One point that really stuck out to me is that many jobs require so many years of developer experience.  I have always thought this truly made no sense.  A second year software developer could be much better and have more skills then a software developer with 12 years of experience.  Seniority is not a good way to judge the quality of a worker.  Another good point the author talked about is looking for a developer with the passion.  Having a passion for something will mean that you are giving it your all.  A developer who loves what they do and wants to succeed will always be better then someone who just does enough to get the paycheck.  Overall, I enjoyed reading this chapter.  It was interesting to get some tips on how companies should view you as a developer, rather then how you should view yourself like in the previous chapters.

Chapter 10 gave advice on the interview process for both the companies and the candidates.  The author stresses that an interview shouldn’t be an integration of the candidate, but instead a business negotiation where both parties reach mutually beneficial agreements.  I really enjoyed and agreed with the whole idea of this chapter.  I am always extremely nervous for interviews and feel like they are testing my every word to make sure I say the right thing.  However, it really shouldn’t be like that.  An interview,  on the side of the interviewer, should be a way to get to know your possible soon to be employee and see if they are a right fit for the job.  If you give a formal “by the book” interview, someone coming in is going to answer like a robot and say what you want to hear.  I really hate how so many companies expect you to have the perfect answers to every question.  If I ever personally give an interview, I will make sure to make the candidate feel comfortable and like they don’t have to speak like they are reading from a textbook.  Another good point the chapter made is that when giving an interview you should be more focused on the candidate’s passion, willing to work, and previous accomplishments then what skills they currently have.  Someone who is enthusiastic about learning new things will be able to pick up quick on any skill they may not have going into the job. When I first got accepted to my internship as a software engineer, I was only a freshman and honestly had minimum technical skills.  I was honest with the interviewer, but I also was clear that I was willing to put the time and effort into learning anything that I needed to.  I ended up getting the job, even though I wasn’t the best at everything.  Now I can say, as a senior that I know so much more then I did during my interview as a freshman.  I am willing to keep this mindset throughout future jobs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

